Menu Close

Blog

Annual Report Fees – Self-Directed IRA LLC (UPDATED 2019)

LLC Annual Report Fees

Self-Directed IRA LLC Annual Report Fees

Note: The Federal Government has enacted a new filing date of March 15th for these fees. Each state legislature is required to change their due dates individually to match the new Federal requirements. Please check with your individual state legislature to confirm the due date and to get the most up-to-date information.

Each Self-Directed IRA LLC client is solely responsible for the filing and complete payment of the applicable LLC annual report/franchise fees. Please consult with a tax advisor for more information or assistance.

Here’s a state by state breakdown of Self-Directed IRA LLC Annual Report Fees:

Alabama

Tel: 334-242-5324

Alabama imposes an annual Business Privilege Tax (BPT) on LLCs. In general, the BPT calculates the total amount of income that passes through the LLC members. Also, there is a $100 minimum tax. The tax is paid to the Department of Revenue (DOR). The Business Privilege Tax return for pass-through entities like LLCs includes an Annual Report form (Form AL-CAR). Of course, participants must include the form with the return.

Except for the initial return, BPT returns are due no later than three and a half months after the beginning of the LLC’s tax year. For example, if your LLC’s tax year matches the calendar year, the return would be due by March 15.

Alaska

Tel: 907-465-2530

All new domestic corporations, professional corporations, domestic nonprofit corporations and domestic limited liability companies must file an initial report. Complete this within six months of the corporation’s formation date. There is no fee for the Alaska Initial Report.

However, Alaska limited liability companies must file a Biennial Report with the Alaska Secretary of State every two years. The Alaska Secretary of State offers online filing. The fee for filing the Alaska Bi-annual Report is $100.

$137.50 if you file it late.

Arizona

Tel: 602 542-3026

An Arizona Limited Liability Company has no requirements to file an Annual report with the State of Arizona.

Arkansas

Tel: 888-233-0325

All LLCs and foreign LLCs must pay Arkansas taxes to the Arkansas Secretary of State. LLCs must pay a minimum $150 tax each year. Additionally, it’s important to file all franchise tax reports with the Arkansas Secretary of State online.

California

Tel: 916 657–5448

A California Limited Liability Company (LLC) must file a Biennial Report on Form LLC-E012R. The Biennial Report may be filed five (5) months prior to the filing month. The Biennial Report is due by the end of the filing month.

California LLC’s and foreign California LLC’s registered to do business in California are required to file an Initial Report (California Statement of information) within 90 days of the date the LLC was formed. Typically, you will receive the Initial Report mailed back to you with your completed file stamped “filing”.

To file a Biennial Report please use the following links:

If there has been no change since the last Biennial Report use this form:

Biennial Report

If there has been change from the last Biennial Report please use this form:

Biennial Report

Note: LLCs taxed as partnerships are not subject to franchise or income tax in California. Like limited partnerships, LLCs, including single-member LLCs disregarded for federal income tax purposes, are subject to the minimum franchise fee of $800.

In addition to the minimum franchise fee, LLCs are subject to a gross receipts based annual fee, regardless of their federal entity classification. The gross receipts based fee is based on a graduated scale and ranges from $900 for LLCs with receipts from California between $250,000 and $500,000 to $11,790 for LLCs with California receipts in excess of $5 million.

Colorado

Tel: 303-894-2200

Colorado limited liability companies must file an Annual Report with the Colorado Secretary of State each year. The Colorado Secretary of State offers online filing. The fee for filing the Colorado Annual Report is $10.

Registered agents will receive a notice that an annual report is due via mail. However, this is not a file that you complete and return by mail. Instead, it’s a postcard stating that an Annual Report is due. It will easily direct you to Ira Financial Group’s website to (1) file online or (2) print a complete report for mailing.

If an entity does not file an Annual Report in a timely manner, the entity’s status will be changed from Good to Non-compliant. A second postcard will be mailed to both the registered agent and the principal office address. This will notify the entity that it has 60 days to file an Annual Report or the status will change to Delinquent.

Connecticut

Tel: 860-509-6002

A Connecticut Limited Liability Company (LLC) must file an Annual Report on the anniversary date of the filing of the Articles of Organization. The fee for filing the Connecticut Annual Report is $20. Connecticut, however, imposes a separate biennial Business Entity Tax (BET). The tax currently is $250 and is payable to the Department of Revenue Services.

Delaware

Tel: 302-739-3073

A Delaware Limited Liability Company (LLC) is not required to file an Annual report with the State of Delaware. However, the State of Delaware imposes a $300 annual tax on all Delaware LLCs.

D.C.

Tel: 202-442-4411

District of Columbia limited liability companies (LLCs) must file a Biennial Report with the Secretary of the District of Columbia every two years. The Report is due March 15. The fee for filing the District of Columbia Biennial Report is $300.

District of Columbia Biennial Report

Florida

Tel: 850-245-6052

A Florida Limited Liability Company (LLC) must file an Annual Report with the Florida Secretary of State. Enter and submit all Annual Reports electronically online. The Annual report is due May 1st.

Provided that you file in a timely manner, the fee for filing the Florida Annual Report is $138.75. Payments can be made by credit card, debit card, or by check or money order. There is a $400 fee if the filing is late.

Georgia

Tel: 404-656-2817

A Georgia Limited Liability Company (LLC) must file an Annual Report with the Georgia Secretary of State. Entity registrations are due by March 1st of each year, but may be filed as early as January 1st. The registration should be filed online.

The fee for filing the Annual report online is $50.

Hawaii

Tel: 808-586-2744

A Hawaii Limited Liability Company (LLC) must file an Annual Report with the Hawaii Secretary of State. You will receive information pertaining to your Annual Report filing obligations from the State of Hawaii via mail prior to the date that the Annual Report is due. Filing an Annual Report should be done online. The fee for filing the Annual Report online is $15.

Idaho

Tel: 208-334-2301

An Idaho Limited Liability Company (LLC) must file an Annual Report with the Idaho Secretary of State. The Office of the Secretary must receive The Annual report prior to the anniversary date. This should be done so as to avoid late filing penalties.

You will receive information pertaining to your Annual Report filing obligations from the State of Idaho via mail prior to the date the Annual Report is due. You must file the Annual Report online. There is no fee for filing the Annual Report.

Idaho, however, imposes a separate state tax directly on LLCs. Generally there is at least a $10 minimum tax on the LLC. Any LLC income not distributed to members will receive a tax at the corporation tax rate.

Illinois

Tel: 217-782-6961

An Illinois Limited Liability Company (LLC) must file an Annual Report with the Illinois Secretary of State. The Office of the Secretary of State must receive the Annual report prior to the anniversary date so as to avoid late filing penalties. There are two ways to file Annual Reports: online or via mail.

The fee for filing the Annual Report is $75.

Indiana

Tel: 317-232-6576

An Indiana Limited Liability Company (LLC) must file an Annual Report with the Indiana Secretary of State. After a business entity has formed or given authority to do business in the state of Indiana, it has an ongoing responsibility to file regular business entity reports. It’s necessary to file these reports every two years by LLCs.

The filings are due during the anniversary month of the LLC’s formation. As a courtesy, the Secretary of State sends a reminder notice of the filing obligation. Again, there are two ways to file an Annual Report: online or via mail. The fee for filing the Annual Report online is $52 or $32 by mail.

Iowa

Tel: 515-281-5204

An Iowa Limited Liability Company (LLC) must file a Biennial Report with the Iowa Secretary of State. The Report must be filed with the state every two (2) years. The State of Iowa will send you the Report for completion prior to the due date. The fee for filing the Biannual Report is $30 if filed electronically, otherwise $45.

Kansas

Tel: 785-296-4564

A Kansas Limited Liability Company (LLC) must file an Annual Report with the Kansas Secretary of State.

You may perform a business entity search to find the annual report due date. You may also contact the Secretary of State’s office at (785) 296-4564.

The Annual Report may be filed online or via mail. The fee for filing the Annual Report is $50 electronically, $55 snail mail.

Kentucky

Tel: 502-564-2848

A Kentucky Limited Liability Company (LLC) must file an Annual Report with the Kentucky Secretary of State. The State of Kentucky sends you the Report for completion prior to the due date. You will need to file the Annual Report online. The fee for filing the Annual Report is $15.

Calculations for the LLE tax is (1) the smallest tax amount on the limited liability pass-through of Kentucky’s gross receipts, or a tax of Kentucky’s gross profits. (2) $175.

Louisiana

Tel: 225-925-4704

A Louisiana Limited Liability Company (LLC) must file an Annual Report with the Louisiana Secretary of State. Do this each year, on or before the anniversary date of organizing or qualifying in Louisiana. All Louisiana and all foreign limited liability companies must file an Annual Report. The cost is $30.

Maine

Tel: 207-626-8400

A Maine Limited Liability Company (LLC) must file an Annual Report with the Maine Secretary of State. The Annual Report is due June 1st. The State of Maine sends a reminder by email around January 1st. You can file the Annual Report two ways: online or by mail.

The fee for filing the Annual Report is $85 for domestic LLCs and $150 for foreign LLCs.

Maryland

Tel: 410-767-1340

The annual report is $300.

Important note: All domestic and foreign legal entities must submit a Personal Property Return to the Department. Failure to file a Personal Property Return will result in forfeiture of your right to conduct business in Maryland. Copies of the return are available on the Maryland State Department of Assessment and Taxation website . The returns are due March 15th of each year.

Massachusetts

Tel: 617-727-9640

A Massachusetts Limited Liability Company (LLC) must file an Annual Report with the Massachusetts Secretary of State. The Office of Secretary of State must receive the Annual report must by the Office of the Secretary of State before the anniversary date. This will avoid late filing penalties. You must file the Annual Report online. The fee for filing the Annual Report is $500.

Michigan

Tel: 888-767-6424

A Michigan Limited Liability Company (LLC) must file an Annual Report with the Michigan Secretary of State. The Annual report is due on February 15 of each year. The state will mail the Annual Report to you within, approximately, 90 days prior to the filing deadline. The fee for filing the Annual Report is $25.

Minnesota

Tel: 651-296-2803

A Minnesota Limited Liability Company (LLC) must file an Annual Report with the Minnesota Secretary of State. There’s a mandatory renewal once each calendar year. This is due by December 31st. The annual renewal filing fee is $45 for online and in-person filings and $25 for filings by mail.

Mississippi

Tel: 601-359-1633

The State of Mississippi requires you to file an annual report for your LLC. You can mail in the report or complete it online at the Secretary of State website. The annual report can be filed any time on or after January 1 but not later than March 15. There is no filing fee for the annual report for a Mississippi LLC.

Missouri

Tel: 573-751-4153

You do not need to file an annual report.

Montana

Tel: 406-444-3665

A Montana Limited Liability Company (LLC) must file an Annual Report with the Montana Secretary of State. The Annual Report is to be filed between January 1 and March 15. The State of Montana will send you a reminder in paper and electronic format. The fee for filing the Annual Report is $20. The fee for reports filed after March 15 is $30.

Nebraska

Tel: 402-471-4079

Nebraska businesses must create an online filing account at Nebraska One-Stop Business Registration website (unless you created one when starting your Nebraska business). The fee is $10. The report is due between January 1st and March 15 in odd-numbered years.

Nevada

Tel: 775-684-5708

A Nevada Limited Liability Company (LLC) must file an Annual Report with the Nevada Secretary of State. The first fee you will encounter is the $150 initial statement of information fee. Your ongoing annual fees are the $150 NV statement of information which is due on the anniversary of your initial filing and the $200 Nevada Department of Revenue “business license” fee each year.

New Hampshire

Tel: 603-271-3244

A New Hampshire Limited Liability Company (LLC) must file an Annual Report with the New Hampshire Secretary of State. The Annual report must be received by the Office of the Secretary of State prior to March 15. You must file the Annual Report online. The fee for filing the Annual Report is $100.

New Jersey

Tel: 609-292-9292

A New Jersey Limited Liability Company (LLC) must file an Annual Report with the New Jersey Secretary of State. The Office of the Secretary of State must receive the Annual report prior to the anniversary date. This avoids late filing penalties. You must file the Annual Report online. The fee for filing the Annual Report is $50.

New Mexico

Tel: 505-827-4508

No annual report required to be filed. However, New Mexico does require LLCs to file an Income and Information Return for Pass-Through Entities (PTE). You can download a copy of the required form from the website for New Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department (TRD).

New York

Tel: 518-473-2492

New York imposes an annual filing fee on typical single-member LLCs (with the default tax status of disregarded entity. It also a fee for typical multi-member LLCs (with the default tax status of partnership). The amount of the filing fee varies depending on your LLC’s gross income source from New York in the preceding tax year.

Some LLCs, such as those without any income, gain, loss, or deduction from New York don’t have to pay the fee. However, the fee can range from $25 to $4,500. Payment must go through the Department of Taxation and Finance (DTF, or Tax Department) using Form IT-204-LL.

You must file the form within 60 days after the last day of your LLC’s tax year. For more details, check the DTF website. The filing fee amount for an LLC is $25. This is only if the LLC is treated as a disregarded entity for federal income tax purposes. You must use the Biennial Statement Amendment form the New York Department of State provides. The statutory fee for filing is $9.

North Carolina

Tel: 919-807-2225

A North Carolina Limited Liability Company (LLC) must file an Annual Report with the North Carolina Secretary of State. LLC annual reports are due the year they are filed. In other words, any LLC in existence on or before April 15th of any given year owes an annual report for that year.

An LLC that forms on April 15th will owe an annual report for that year. An LLC that forms on April 16th (or after) is not in existence when the due date for an annual report occurs for that calendar year. Therefore, LLCs that form after April 15th will not owe an annual report until the next calendar year. The fee for filing the Annual Report is $200.

North Dakota

Tel: 701-328-4284

A North Dakota Limited Liability Company (LLC) must file an Annual Report with the North Dakota Secretary of State. A limited liability company must file an annual report with the Secretary of State on or before November 15th of each year.

The first annual report is due in the year that the company was initially chartered or registered with the Secretary of State. The state will mail The Annual Report to you approximately 90 days prior to the filing deadline. The fee for filing the Annual Report is $50.

Ohio

Tel: 614-466-3910

Ohio does not require an annual report.

Oklahoma

Tel: 405-521-3912

An Oklahoma Limited Liability Company (LLC) must file an Annual Report with the Oklahoma Secretary of State. LLC annual reports are due for the year in which they are filed. The Annual report must be received by the Office of the Secretary of State prior to the anniversary date so as to avoid late filing penalties. You may file the Annual Report online. The fee for filing the Annual Report is $25.

Oregon

Tel: 503-986-2200

An Oregon Limited Liability Company (LLC) must file an Annual Report with the Oregon Secretary of State. LLC annual reports are due for the year in which they are filed. Annual reports and renewal forms are mailed approximately forty-five days prior to the renewal due date. The Office of the Secretary of State must have the Annual report prior to the anniversary date. Therefore, no late filing penalties will occur. You may file the Annual Report online. The fee for filing the Annual Report is $100.

Pennsylvania

Tel: 717-787-1057

The filing fee is $70, and the report is only filed in years ending in 1. Therefore, if it was due in 2011, it won’t be due again until 2021. You can file the report during the whole reporting year.

Rhode Island

Tel: 401-222-3040

A Rhode Island Limited Liability Company (LLC) must file an Annual Report with the Rhode Island Secretary of State. Annual Reports are to be filed annually between the first day of September and the first day of November, but in no event should they be submitted for filing more than sixty (60) days prior to the commencement of the filing period. The Annual Report must be typed or printed legibly in black ink. The fee for filing the Annual Report is $50. Blank report forms are available for download from the SOS website

Rhode Island has an annual minimum corporate income tax of $450.

South Carolina

Tel: 803-734-2158

South Carolina does not require an annual report.

South Dakota

Tel: 605-773-4845

A South Dakota Limited Liability Company (LLC) must file an Annual Report with the South Dakota Secretary of State. The Office of the Secretary of State must receive the Annual report prior to the anniversary date. Again, this must be done so as to avoid late filing penalties. The fee for filing the Annual Report is $50.

Tennessee

Tel: 615-741-2286

A Tennessee Limited Liability Company (LLC) must file an Annual Report with the Tennessee Secretary of State. The Annual report is due on or before the first day of the fourth month. This is following the company’s fiscal year end. You can file the Annual Report online. The minimum fee for filing the Annual Report is $300.

Texas

Tel: 512-463-5555

Texas does not require an annual report. However, Texas imposes a state franchise tax on most LLCs. The tax is payable to the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts (CPA). In general terms, the franchise tax is based on an LLC’s “net surplus.” This is the net assets of the LLC minus its members’ contributions. The details for computing the tax can be a challenge. However, if the LLC’s revenue is less than $1,110,000, no tax is due. Yet, you must file the return.

Utah

Tel: 801-530-4849

A Utah Limited Liability Company (LLC) must file an Annual Report with the Utah Secretary of State. The Office of the Secretary must receive the Annual report prior to the anniversary date. This avoids late filing penalties. You can file the Annual Report online. The fee for filing the Annual Report is $15.

Vermont

Tel: 802-828-2386

The annual report is due within the first two-and-a-half months following the end of your LLC’s fiscal year as recorded with the SOS. For example, if your fiscal year matches the calendar year (ends in December), your annual report is due any time between January 1 and March 15. The current filing fee is $35.

Virginia

Tel: 804-371-9733

For limited liability companies, the annual registration fee is $50. It is assessed as of the first day of the second month. This precedes the month in which the company was formed or registered to transact business in Virginia.

Washington

Tel: 360-725-0377

The State of Washington requires you to file an annual report (also known as an annual renewal) for your LLC. The report must be filed online at the Secretary of State website. Additionally, you must file the initial annual report within 120 days of the date you filed to create your LLC. The Secretary of State determines Subsequent annual report due dates. You should receive a notice from the state approximately 45 days before a report is due. The current filing fee for annual reports is $71. This doesn’t include the convenience fee for credit and debit transactions.

West Virginia

Tel: 304-558-8000

A West Virginia Limited Liability Company (LLC) must file an Annual Report with the West Virginia Secretary of State. The State will send a renewal notice to the LLC’s registered agent in January. The Annual Report may be filed online. The fee for filing the Annual Report is $25 and is due by March 15.

Wisconsin

Tel: 608-261-7577

The State of Wisconsin requires you to file an annual report for your LLC. Annual report forms or notifications are automatically sent to your LLC’s registered agent and office. File your annual report online at the DFI website. The annual report is due March 15th. The current filing fee is $25.

Wyoming

Tel: 307-777-7311

A Wyoming Limited Liability Company (LLC) must file an Annual Report with the Wyoming Secretary of State. You should receive a notice from the State with instructions to access this page to submit your annual report. You must file online two months prior to the date the Annual Report is due.

Additionally, the fee for filing the Annual Report is $50 or two-tenths of one mill on the dollar ($.0002). Whichever is greater based on the company’s assets located and employed in the state of Wyoming.

Share the knowledge

You May Also Like

Free Consultation